Cyber bullying isn’t a fun time!

 

I’m not going to lie to you guys, the first thing I look for when I log onto Facebook is dog memes and vines. I am absolutely obsessed. I’ll sit there almost wetting myself over a pug wearing a hat, or making a funny face, or twerking.
And whilst I’m on my journey to see my beloved puppies, I can’t help but see something that makes me extremely uncomfortable.
Cyber bullying.

It’s everywhere, on every social media website you can think of. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,Tumblr… I’m so confident you’ll find at least one example of cyber bullying on one of these sites that I’ll give you $10 if you can’t find anything. (And I’m a poor Uni student so that’s saying something.)

When most people picture cyber bullying they think of petty insults like, “You’re ugly“, or “you look disgusting”. When in reality this petty façade is hiding the much more dangerous and brutal side of this new type of bullying. The side that leads people to anxiety, depression, and even suicide.mean-girls-movie-quotes-70_large_zpsae67b335

We all hear them, the stories of young people on the internet driven to depression by people who remain faceless but type words so hurtful and repulsive you’d think you killed a litter of kittens. Names like Amanda Todd, the 14- year old teenager who took her own life in 2012 after being told by internet trolls to ‘kill herself’ over and over again. Even famous names, like TV celebrity Charlotte Dawson who just recently unfortunately committed suicide due to cyber bullies.

The point I’m making by telling you all this however, is that NO ONE, anywhere, by anyone, at anytime should be told to kill themselves. We should be able to feel confident about uploading a selfie, and not have to worry about some no name stranger abusing you for your ‘weird eyebrows’ or that one freckle on your lip you can hardly see. Because I can guarantee that it’s really not that bad.

And I know there is always going to be that one idiot who think it’s funny to put down someone for absolutely no reason. Or the troll who gets off to starting arguments on Facebook. But that doesn’t mean that you have to be one of those people.

So what I’m really asking you to do is to ignore and compliment frequently. That’s your new mantra.
When you see something that you don’t like, just keep on scrolling. Unless it hurts you in any way, shape or form I want you to take a deep breathe and keep on keeping on. However, when you see something you do like, I want you to like the crap out of it. Compliment your little heart away. I challenge you. Tell every cat and dog how beautiful they are and to ‘shake it like a Polaroid picture’.

Make a positive difference, instead of a negative one okay? I promise you’ll feel heaps better for it.

Alex over and out oxoxoxox

One thought on “Cyber bullying isn’t a fun time!

  1. This person made me glad that some young people are still searching out the unjust elements in our world and saying ” No, this is not Ok. ” instead of allowing things to continue as is because it’s easier. If this was my child I would be proud of the young woman she is turning into. I’ll take up her challenge and compliment others in my life today and hopefully everyday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

